Gift planning with Uncommongoods.com

Every year at this time I find myself surprised by the passage of time. That we can reach the end of another 365 day cycle and feel like we somehow didn’t notice the days going by. I don’t know if it’s just me, but time seems to be moving so much more quickly since I had children. I measure the passing of the years by their progress, by how they change and grow and I don’t even see it while it’s happening right in front of me.

So, in the interest of life passing quickly, I’m attempting to quash my Christmas blues with a little bit of gift planning. I love buying gifts for people, and I put a lot of thought into finding something that is right for the person I’m buying for. And, most of all, I like to try and find something a little unusual, which generally sees me trawling Etsy and crying at the shipping costs.

However, I’ve been looking at gifts at Uncommongoods.com and I think I might have struck gift-buying gold.

I think I’ve already touched on the fact that I’m a bit of an eco-warrior. Or, at least, you’ve probably read between the lines and figured it out for yourselves. So the fact that sustainability and the environment are important to this company is a huge factor for me. They’re also completely animal friendly – no leather, fur or feathers – and the paper used to make their catalogues is from FSC certified forests.

Amazing.

You can read more about the company behind the products here.

Our anniversary is coming up in June – I know, I know; I’ve got ages yet – and the last thing I want is to be scrambling at the last minute to find a special gift for N. So I had a look around the anniversary collection and found some gorgeous things. Including this:

journal

12 Ways To Say “I Love You” Journal

When N and I celebrated our first anniversary as a couple, I had spent the months leading up to it putting together a scrap book of photographs, ticket stubs and anecdotes. The idea was that I would add to it every year, but I never got round to it. So this would be great for me, because it gives me all the prompting I need to create something really special.

You can find more inspiration for anniversary gifts here:
http://www.uncommongoods.com/gifts/anniversary-gifts/anniversary-gifts

My mom’s birthday is also coming up in March, so I thought I’d have a look at gift ideas for her too. I love this wishing ball, which encourages you to make one wish every week for a year and place the wishes inside the glass ball. You can’t get them back out, but you’ve got a keepsake forever filled with a year full of your wishes and dreams. I also adore the idea of this book, a great gift for any parent or grandparent to record the story of their own life and pass down to their children and grandchildren. Like me, my mom loves to write and I can see her losing herself in writing her life story.

Check out more birthday gift ideas here:
http://www.uncommongoods.com/gifts/birthday-gifts

I also couldn’t resist having a look around to see what I could find for sprucing up our home and garden, and I stumbled across this gorgeous solar powered mason jar. For our last anniversary, my mom bought us a bench for the garden and it would be lovely to sit outside in the evening with one of these lanterns on the table between us. Also, clean, green energy is always a win.

mason-jar

Solar powered mason jar

If you’re looking for something for your home or garden, you’ll find the full collection here:
http://www.uncommongoods.com/home-garden/home-decor

There are gifts to suit every budget and for every kind of person you can think of, and I could spend hours looking through everything. If you’re passionate about the environment and you want to find something quirky and special for someone you love, I can’t recommend Uncommongoods.com highly enough.

Happy gift hunting!

img_2963

More of my favourites

Disclaimer: This post was sponsored by Uncommongoods.com. All images used in this post are the property of Uncommongoods.com. The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

