Review: Baker Days Letterbox Cake

It’s been a tricky few weeks with one thing and another, so when Baker Days contacted me on Twitter to ask if I would like to review their Letterbox Gift Cake, I couldn’t say yes fast enough! You know what they say: When the going gets tough, the tough eat cake. They do say that… Right? Anyway, I popped them a quick email with a few details on Friday and by Monday morning I had a confirmation email in my inbox.

 

I expected delivery to take a few days, so imagine my thorough delight when my cake turned up the very next day! O took delivery of it from the postman and jumped up and down next to me – “Can we eat it? Can we eat it? Canweeatitnowmummy?!?!?!” – while I opened it and was very disappointed when I told him he would have to wait a couple of days until I had some time to write a blog.

 

IMG_0978

 

After the kids had both had their tea tonight, I opened up the cute little cake tin and very carefully unwrapped my lovely cake. The Letterbox Cake is a wee little 5 inch cake, which the baker days website says will provide 3-4 portions, but I’m pretty sure we’ll be able to get a few more out of it since I don’t want the boys bouncing off the walls anymore than usual in the final week of the summer holidays! There are loads of cakes to choose from – you can even order cupcakes -, but this particular cake is priced at £14.99 and comes with the added convenience of being able to fit through the letterbox so you don’t even need to be at home to take delivery of it. The cakes come well packaged in a box and tin, and you even get some candles, balloons and a party horn.

 

I cut O a slice while he jigged about with excitement next me, then he rushed off and started stuffing his face before I even had chance to grab my phone and get a photo. I did manage to get a picture of him mid-bite and he assured me after he was done scoffing, “I liked it. It was a very good cake.” Nothing quite like the endorsement of a child when it comes to cake, right?

 

IMG_0982

 

Next it was my turn:

 

IMG_0986

 

I didn’t really eat the rest of the cake. Not yet anyway. But both of the kids are in bed now, so it’s probably only a matter of time…

 

I don’t know about you, but I really like cake. Cake is the answer to most of life’s problems, I’ve discovered. And this was really nice cake. The great thing about a cake this size is that you can only really have a small slice, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. I found that the cake was nice and light and the frosting was sweet and filling, so I didn’t feel like I was missing out by only having a small cake.

 

I think the size of these cakes makes them a really handy way of letting someone know you’re thinking of them, because you can pick a theme or have a full photo cake like I did – the possibilities are pretty much endless!

 

Baker Days deliver six days a week and, if you order before 2pm, your cake can be with you the very next day. So, if you’re anything like me and you end up forgetting birthdays and anniversaries pretty much every year, you’re covered!

 

If you fancy ordering a cake for yourself – or someone else if you like anyone enough to give away cake – pop over to the Baker Days website and have a look around. You can also find Baker Days on Facebook and Twitter.

 

AND if you’d like to be in with a chance of winning* a Letterbox Cake, head over to the Motherhood IRL Twitter, follow me and retweet the pinned tweet at the top of my profile. I’ll be running the giveaway until next Friday when I will pick a winner at random.

 

*The giveaway is open to UK and Northern Ireland residents only and  you will need to be comfortable with DM-ing me your email address for me to forward onto Baker Days.

 

DISCLAIMER: I received this Letterbox Gift Cake in exchange for a review on my blog and hosting a giveaway. The above review is a true and honest reflection of my opinion (and O’s)  on and experience of the product provided by Baker Days.

Leave a Reply

