Wicked Wednesday!

It’s Wicked Wednesday again and this week we’ve been to the beach. We go to the beach quite often, seeing as it’s only a ten minute drive away, but F is only just starting to appreciate it now that he can walk.

It’s been one of those mornings when I just couldn’t handle the idea of being stuck inside, even with the weather forecast being a little unsettled. So the kids donned their waterproofs and I packed the rain cover for the push chair into the car and off we went.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I never remember to check the tide times before I set off. I just go and hope for the best and have a half-baked alternative lined up just in case there is no sand. Luckily, the tide was all the way out and we had miles of beach to run around on. So I liberated F from the pushchair and he and O promptly ran/staggered off across the sand in search of half-dug holes and abandoned sandcastles (because I also tend to forget buckets and spades and it looked like it might piss it down at any moment).

The boys chased each other around for about an hour, F didn’t eat any sand for once and O managed not to knock him over too many times. They had fun – I think -, but F’s little legs were getting tired and the black clouds were rolling in, so I called them both back and we beat a hasty retreat back to the car. I’d just got both kids, the pushchair and myself inside when the rain started and I was relieved that I hadn’t had to wrestle the rain cover onto the push chair while O refused to have his hood up and then wailed about being wet (this has happened before. More than once).

Anyway, I think this photo sums up our morning at the beach pretty well:

 

“What’s dis, mumma?”

Have a lovely week, everyone!

10 comments

  1. monkeyandme · April 6, 2016

    More seaside fun!!
    I cannot wait for the summer!!
    It’s all about avoiding the spring shows at the moment!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mommyslittleprincesses · April 6, 2016

    Haha i never knew you could check tide times. Looks like a good time was had at the beach. Xx #wickedwednesdays

    Liked by 1 person

    • Motherhood IRL · April 6, 2016

      I remember my mom doing it religiously every time we were going to the beach when we were kids. I think I’ve checked once, and that was because she was coming with us and I didn’t want to look like an amateur! X

      Like

  3. Clare · April 6, 2016

    I never check tide times either! Looks like a good day at the beach! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah SO CUTE! Ruddy sand and seaweed! Urgh! Thanks so much for linking up with #wickedwednesdays. Can’t wait to see what you have lined up next week! x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Martyn Kitney · April 11, 2016

    I never check the tides but always think I should after the fact. Looks like you had fun though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Motherhood IRL · April 11, 2016

      Yes! I’m like that too. I get down there and there’s no sand and the kids just look at me like “THIS IS YOUR FAULT!” Ooops!

      Like

Leave a Reply

